September 4, 2019
/

Jazz Vespers Returns Thursday, Sep 26th at 7pm

Vespers is a sunset evening prayer service in the Lutheran liturgy from the Latin word vesper, meaning “evening.” Jazz is a music genre originating in the African-American communities of New Orleans, characterized by strong, prominent meter, improvisation, and synco- pated rhythmic patterns.

Trinity Lutheran offers Jazz Vespers at the end of each month through the fall, winter, and spring. It is a contemplative, musical service that combines ancient Christian liturgies with 20th and 21st century American jazz. Come share a creative, sophisticated evening of prayer and song. The service begins at 7 p.m. in the Sanctuary. A wine and cheese reception follows the service in Memorial Hall.

Dates for 2019 through 2020 are as follows: Thursday, September 26; Thursday, October 31; Wednesday, November 27; Thursday, December 26; Thursday;, January 30; Thursday, February 27; Thursday, March 26; Thursday, April 30; Thursday, May 28; Thursday, June 25.

Enjoy dessert and refreshments following the service.
Invite some friends to join you for this blended service to wind down your day. Free and open to the public.

Click for Directions